Meier Achievement Awards for 2018 Gives Thanks for Work of Three Artists

Helen Coburn Meier and Tim Meier today released the names of their 13th Arts Achievement Awards.  Their Foundation recognizes Chicago-based artists in mid-career who push the artistic envelope.

The 2018 awardees are composer/conductor Renee Baker, sculptor Eric Lindsey, and painter Scott Stack.

Renee Baker Ms. Baker is founding music director and conductor of the internationally acclaimed Chicago Modern Orchestra Project (CMOP), a polystylistic orchestral organization that grew from the plums of classical music, as well as jazz. Her compositions are crafted from her many talents with carefully constructed environments that also allow indeterminacy, experimentalism, classicism, subjectivity, and objective interpretations to co-exist. Intense but rewarding for both performer and listener/viewer, all parties are cast into unknown roles upon encounter, to be radically inside a temporary environment of limitless inhabitation.  Helen Meier says: “Renee thrills and unsettles. She tries to unsettle the world.” For more information, see

Eric Lindsey – In 1977, Eric accepted a position as a sculptor’s apprentice to Daniel Lowery at his studio in O’Fallon, Illinois, learning mold making, woodcarving, clay, metal casting, and iron forging.  Discovering stone working after arriving in Chicago was the only natural next step. After meeting Isamu Noguchi, he felt determined to combine elements of all of these materials to create a singular body of work that became “something it already was.” Helen says Eric’s “mastery of stone, with a touch of iron to open our eyes, is determinedly seductive. I like your unpredictability.” For more information, see

Scott Stack – The Chicago Cultural Center recently exhibited a celebrated showing of Scott’s paintings “that challenge our perceptual capabilities as well as defy conventional categories and operations of abstract and representational traditions in modern painting.” Scott’s work engages the viewer to search for a way to make sense of the pattern we are seeing. Scott’s work has been exhibited throughout the Midwest and New York.Tim says, “His work pulled me onto the canvas and then on a journey into the depth of the painting. Levels of meaning appear as you study his work.” For more information, see


The Meier Achievement Award

The 2018 Meier Achievement Award recognizes past work of mid-career arts professionals with checks for $40,000.  There are no applications, no project to submit, and no outcome measurements.  This follows Tim Meier’s directive, “No strings.”  For more information, see


Past Recipients: 

Jim Lasko, founding Artistic Director, Redmoon Theatre

James Bohnen, cofounder & former Artistic Director, Remy Bumppo Theatre

Meade Palidofsky, founder & Artistic Director, StoryCatchers Theatre

Patti McKenny, poet, librettist/lyricist, Founder of Chicago Musical Theatre Works

John Eskola, tenor, cabaret artist

Mark Messing, composer, founder of Mucca Pazzo gypsy marching band & Lullaby Project

PJ Powers, founder & Artistic Director, TimeLine Theatre

Michael Patrick Thornton, founder & Artistic Director, Gift Theater

Homer Hans Bryant, Director, Chicago Multi-Cultural Dance Center

Elizabeth Doyle, composer, cabaret artist

Hallie Gordon, director, Steppenwolf Theatre for Young Adults

James Ginsburg, classical musical producer, Cedille Records

Terry Karpowicz, sculptor

Miroslaw Rogala, multi-media artist

Molly Shanahan, choreographer, Mad Shak company

Wesley Kimler, painter

Jeff Kowalkowski, new music composer

Nick Sandys, director/actor/fight choreographer, Artistic Director, Remy Bumppo Theatre

Mindy Rose Schwartz, sculptor

Bernard Williams, painter/sculptor

Jack Zimmerman, storyteller

Sean Graney, playwright

Rob Mazurek, electro-acoustic composer, cornetist, improviser and visual artist

Julia Miller, sound artist, guitarist, improvisor, composer, visual artist, curator and educator

Simone Muench, poet

Chris Newman, sculptor

Donald Noon, sculptor

Damon Locks, visual artist and musician

James Morrow, dancer and choreographer

Dan Ramirez, painter

Eric Stephenson, sculptor

Stephen Burns, artistic director and conductor, Fulcrum Point

Stacy Garrop, composer

Ayako Kato, dancer and choreographer

Tim Anderson, painter

Chris Bradley, sculptor

Chloe Jensen, choreographer and artistic director, Aerial Dance Chicago

Jill King, sculpter