Meier Achievement Awards for 2010 Gives Thanks for Work of Four Artists

Helen Coburn Meier and Tim Meier today released the names of their 5th Arts Achievement Awards. Their Foundation recognizes Chicago-based artists in mid-career who push the artistic envelope. “We give these gifts at Thanksgiving to show appreciation for their work, “says Helen.

The 2010 awardees are classical music producer James Ginsburg, sculptor Terry Karpowicz, multi-media innovator Miroslaw Rogala, and dancer/choreographer Molly Shanahan.

James Ginsburg’s vision is to promote Chicago classical artists. His Cedille Records is the label of The Chicago Classical Recording Foundation, which documents the work of Chicago’s finest musicians, ensembles and composers. Ginsburg says his goal is to showcase imaginative programs on audiophile-quality recordings. Helen Meier adds, “We applaud Jim for seeing that Chicago has an abundance of stellar musicians. With his recording projects, Jim believes he can advance musicians’ careers and serve the listening public in equal measure.” For more information, see

Terrence Karpowicz learned traditional techniques of woodworking and joinery while apprenticing as a millwright. Today he makes free-standing sculpture for outdoors and indoors, small sculpture to stand on his beautifully crafted tables, and pieces to hang on walls. His work in stone, wood and stainless steel is always influenced by the interaction of wind, water, and joinery on natural materials. Tim Meier says, “Terry’s work is well crafted technically and well thought-out artistically.” For more information, see

Miroslaw Rogala is the Foundation’s first interdisciplinary achievement awardee. His interactive multimedia work combines drawing, photography and computer skills, using the viewer’s body as a triggering device. Rogala’s eGarden Project documents Chicago’s Washington Square. The Museum of Contemporary Art showed his interactive public art Nature Is Leaving Us in 1989, and his Divided We Stand in 1997. Rogala sells still photographs from his projects online. Rogala quipped, “Writing software for art is building a paintbrush, hair by hair.” For more information, see and

Molly Shanahan, an innovative dancer and choreographer, has re-imagined movement from unexpected places in her body, her rib cage and abdomen. Her Mad Shak company is renowned for quite provocative concert dance performances. Shanahan says, “I take what I’ve learned and risk that spontaneous composition will occur in performance. We create order out of chaos.” For more information, see

The Meier Achievement Award

The 2010 Meier Achievement Award recognizes past work of mid-career arts professionals with checks for $33,333 (which is $25,000 & 33% for income tax). The Foundation uses nominators. There is a research phase. The Board makes the final selection. There are no applications, no project to submit, and no outcome measurements. This follows Tim Meier’s directive, “No strings.”

Past Recipients :

Jim Lasko, founding Artistic Director, Redmoon Theatre 2010 City of Chicago Artist In Residence

James Bohnen, cofounder & former Artistic Director, Remy Bumppo Theatre

Meade Palidofsky, founder & Artistic Director, StoryCatchers Theatre

Patti McKenny, poet, librettist/lyricist of two musicals, song lyricist Founder of Chicago Musical Theatre Works

John Eskola, tenor, cabaret artist

Mark Messing, composer, Founder of Mucca Pazzo gypsy marching band & Lullaby Project

PJ Powers, founder & Artistic Director, TimeLine Theatre

Michael Patrick Thornton, founder & Artistic Director, Gift Theater 2009 3Arts recipient

Homer Hans Bryant, Director, Chicago Multi-Cultural Dance Center, in 2010 his group performed at the White House

Elizabeth Doyle, composer, cabaret artist

Hallie Gordon, director, Steppenwolf Theatre for Young Adults